PRESS RELEASE

For Immediate Release: 4/30/24

City of De Pere 335 South Broadway De Pere, WI 54115-1199 www.de-pere.org Contact: Communications & Marketing Manager Phone: 920-339-2371 apantzlaff@deperewi.gov



Eserkaln will fill open De Pere common council seat

DE PERE, Wis. —Mike Eserkaln has been selected by Mayor James Boyd to fill a vacant position on De Pere Common Council. This vacancy had been created by the resignation of former District 3 alderperson Dean Raasch, who moved from the area for a career opportunity.

De Pere alderpersons serve two-year terms. Eserkaln is completing the remaining one year on Raasch's existing term, which concludes in April 2025. He will also take over Raasch's appointments on the Board of Park Commissioners and Board of Public Works.

Eserkaln previously served on De Pere's Common Council from 2020-2022. He returns to fill one of two spots on Common Council representing District 3. De Pere's other alderperson representing District 3 is Devin Perock.

Council meetings are held on the first and third Tuesday of each month. The City of De Pere operates with four Aldermanic Districts, with two alderpersons representing each district, totaling eight alderpersons. Council members are elected on a non-partisan basis for two-year overlapping terms. The City Council plays a crucial role in addressing matters affecting the city, including policy implementation, ordinance enactments, and overall city governance.

For those interested in learning more about the Mayor and the Common Council, please visit <u>www.deperewi.gov/mayor</u>.

###